Watt's New

Oct 11, 2021

Glenda Wood honored with 2020 A.C. Burrows Award

Glenda Wood honored with 2020 A.C. Burrows Award

Glenda Wood, a director for Macon Electric Cooperative, Macon, was honored with the A.C. Burrows Award by the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives (AMEC) at that organization’s annual meeting Oct. 7 in Branson.

The purpose of the award is to recognize directors and employees of electric cooperatives for outstanding service to their cooperative, community and service areas. Those who received the award were selected because of their leadership above and beyond the call of duty to strengthen and improve the economic and social conditions in their areas.

Wood has served on the Board of Directors for Macon Electric Cooperative for the past 17 years. She has dedicated much of her time and energy to the success of the cooperative. During her time on the MEC board, Glenda has held several roles including president, vice-president and secretary-treasurer. Her most recent chairs include secretary of the Macon Electric Heating and Air Board and MEC representative for the Northeast Power Electric Cooperative board. Over the years, Glenda has spent countless hours educating herself on the cooperative business model. In 2018, Glenda received her Board Leadership Certificate, the highest honor a cooperative director can receive. Glenda puts the cooperative first in every decision she makes as both a director and a member.

The award is named for the late Audrian Cleon Burrows of Van Buren, Mo., who rose through the ranks to become general manager of the Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives. Burrows served in this position from 1968 to 1976. He was recognized as an outstanding leader in rural electrification and as a distinguished individual who dedicated his life to helping others.

The Association of Missouri Electric Cooperatives, Jefferson City, is the statewide service organization for Missouri’s electric cooperatives.


‹ Back to News