Our walk-up window is now open within our entryway.

Watt's New

Aug 14, 2019

MEC Hosts 80th Annual Membership Meeting

MEC Hosts 80th Annual Membership Meeting

Macon Electric Cooperative’s 80th Annual Membership Meeting was held on Tuesday, August 13, 2019. Attendance was estimated at a little over 1,800 and there were 892 registered members in attendance.

Members enjoyed a free dinner catered by C&R Market, as well as ice cream, popcorn, snow cones, and bottled water. Kids’ activities included the annual coloring contest, an interactive area to dress like a lineman, and bounce houses. The crowd was entertained throughout the evening by Keota.

The board president, Jay Collins, conducted the business portion of the meeting. General Manager, Todd Schroeder, gave the manager’s report; and guest speaker, Joe Wilkinson of Associated Electric Cooperative, gave the keynote address. Three directors were elected for three-year terms: Bill Lear, Central Area; Larry Abernathy, Southern Area; and Alvin Weimer, Southwestern Area.

Kids ages 5 through 17 registered to win one of eight $50 Walmart gift cards. The eight winners were: Abby Cosby of Bevier, Allie Williams of Macon, Austin Wright of Cairo, Creedence Thruman of Atlanta, Madison Klamert of Atlanta, Shane Koch of Macon, and Westen Bunse of Callao.

The winners of the 2019 Annual Meeting Coloring Contest were: (for kids entering kindergarten and first grade) Creedence Thurman of Atlanta, first place, and Jesse Johnson of Marceline, second place; (for kids entering second and third grade) Tarin Schneider of Atlanta, first place, and Jacob Johnson of Marceline, second place; (entering fourth and fifth grade) Briah Mallett of Bevier, first place, and Kylie Moore of Marceline, second place. 

Throughout the meeting, prize drawings were held and twelve $50 energy credits were given away to registered members. The $50 energy credit winners were: Baker and Baker Farms of La Plata, Rodney and Cheryl Brown of Excello, Wayne and Betty Clark of Macon, George and Debbie Cress of Bevier, James and Elizabeth Garrison of Clarence, John and Melissa Greenwood of Anabel, James Grimshaw of Macon, Martha Hartung of Macon, Earl and Glenda Hays of Bucklin, Robert Long of Bevier, Norman and Doris Moore of Atlanta, and Ernest Still of Macon. The winner of the grand prize, a $500 energy credit, was Margaret Turner of Clarence.

‹ Back to News