Watt's New

Aug 10, 2017

Macon Electric Cooperative’s 78th Annual Membership Meeting Highlights

Macon Electric Cooperative’s 78th Annual Membership Meeting Highlights

Macon Electric Cooperative’s 78th Annual Membership Meeting was held on Tuesday, August 8, 2017. Attendance was estimated at a little over 2,300 and there were 1,112 registered members.

Members enjoyed a free barbeque dinner, ice cream, popcorn, snow cones and bottled water. Kids’ activities included the annual coloring contest, an interactive area to dress like a lineman and bounce houses. The crowd was entertained throughout the evening by Silver Wings.

The board president, Glenda Wood, conducted the business portion of the meeting. General Manager, Todd Schroeder, gave the manager’s report and three directors were elected for three-year terms: Charles Lile, Northwestern Area; Glenda Wood, Western Area; Jay Collins, Eastern Area. Two proposed By-law propositions were voted upon and both proposed changes were approved by the membership. The board also elected officers for the coming year: Dan Fitzhugh, president; Greg Bruno, vice president; Richard Kemp, secretary-treasurer.

Kids ages 5 through 17 registered to win one of eight $50 Walmart gift cards. The eight winners were: Austin Wright of Cairo, Taegan Nelson of Macon, Brody Baker of Atlanta, Madison Aldridge of Macon, Zeke Sullivan of Macon, Miranda Alton of Macon, Zoie Eleazarraraz of Clarence, and Dylan Pagliai of Excello.

The winners of the 2017 Annual Meeting Coloring Contest were: (for kids entering kindergarten and first grade) Jenna Allspach, first place, and Clara Fitzsimmons, second place; (for kids entering second and third grade) Kylee Barton, first place, and Jada Renee Nelson, second place; (entering fourth and fifth grade) Tinley Schneider, first place, and Lilian Helm, second place.

Throughout the meeting prize drawings were held and twelve (12) $50 energy credits were given away to registered members. The $50 energy credit winners were: H. C. Peeper of Clarence, Jerry Sizemore of Bevier, Lynn and Nancy Purdy of Shelbina, Glen and Nickie Turnmire of Excello, Howard and Melba Sullivan of Macon, Scott and Kathy Nelson of Macon, Stephen and Rita Moore of Bevier, Charles Satterthwaite of Callao, Becky Lang of Macon, David and Phyllis Fuller of Macon, J. D. and Julia Barry of Clarence, and Kenneth and Beverly Foster of Cairo. The winners of the grand prize, a $500 energy credit, were Thomas and Jeanetta Westhoff of Shelbina.


‹ Back to News