Board of Directors

Macon Electric Cooperative is a member-owned not-for-profit electric utility. The member/owners operate the Cooperative through a nine-member Board of Directors elected by the voting membership. Each year, three directors are elected for a three-year term at the Annual Membership Meeting held in August. They represent a different geographical location of the Cooperative service area: the Central District, the Northwestern District, the Northern District, the Northeastern District, the Eastern District, the Southeastern District, the Southern District, the Southwestern District, and the Western District. The Board of Directors serve without salary, and acting as a group, they establish specific operating policies for the Cooperative. 

A regular board meeting is held on the last Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise noted. Special meetings can also be called to order by the Board of Directors if the need arises.

Mary C. Almond

Northwestern Area

Danny Smithson

Vice President
Northern Area

Rick Kemp

Northeastern Area

Benjamin Williams

Western Area

Bill Lear

Central Area

Jay Collins

Eastern Area

Alvin Weimer

Southwestern Area

Larry Abernathy

Southern Area

Paul Unterbrink

Southeastern Area